Monday, June 21, 2010

Newman Park Board Revises Bylaws

This past Saturday, board members of the Newman Park Neighborhood Association revised the 2007 bylaws with the principal goal of involving the general membership more by

  • Going to quarterly general membership meetings (the current bylaws require bi-monthly meetings which have never taken place)
  • Opening board membership up to 5/5 2 year staggered terms
  • Ensuring that the general membership nominates and elects board members in all instances

Read and/or download the bylaws as revised here. Some final revisions were made during the meeting and are highlighted in yellow.

Board membership will be expanded from 8 persons to 10. Recently board member, Becky Ayala, resigned. Rather than replacing that chair which expires at the general meeting in July, the current members who will serve for one more year will remain fixed at five. (This list consists of Board President Lynn Coyle, Board Vice President Becky Friesenhahn, Juan Villalobos, Treasurer Lee Byrd and Jim Tolbert whose terms expire next July 2011.) 3 new board members will be added to the list of those elected in even years which now includes Abbie Majerczyk and Lisa Degliantoni. The terms of these 5 persons would then expire in 2012.

Lynn Coyle has recently expressed a desire to step down as President. Obviously, whoever is elected President by the board after the general meeting which elects new board members is elected to fill the remaining year of Lynn’s Presidency. Becky Friesenhahn and Lee Byrd will continue to serve as officers as they have one more year in their terms. The new board membership will have to re-elect Abbie as Secretary should the general membership re-elect her to the board for another two-year term and Abbie wishes to continue in that capacity.

Members of the Newman Park Neighborhood Association may nominate persons to serve on the board for a 2-year term. The Annual meeting is scheduled for July 10. The Big Easy will provide the musical entertainment. Newmanista, Mike Torres, plays in that band.

No comments: